The Free and Sovereign State of Quintana Roo celebrates 46 Years

The State of Quintana Roo celebrated it’s 46th birthday on October 8th.  The state’s official name is  “Estado Libre y Soberano de Quintana Roo” (Free and Sovereign State of Quintana Roo)  Together with Baja California Sur, who was also granted official State status on October 8, 1974, Quintana Roo and Baja California Sur are the youngest states in the entire Republic of Mexico.

Quintana Roo officially covers 44,705 square kilometers (17,261 sq mi), is divided into 10 municipalities, and includes Cancun, the islands of Cozumel and Isla Mujeres, Bacalar, Playa del Carmen,  Akumal, Xel-ha, and the Capitol of Chetumal.

In February of 2015 Quintana Roo adopted a new time zone:  Southeastern, and corresponds to Eastern Standard Time.  The state no longer observes daylight savings time.

El Estado Libre y Soberano de Quintana Roo celebra su 46º aniversario

El mes pasada el Estado de Quintana Roo celebró su 46º aniversario.  El nombre oficial del Estado es: Estado Libre y Soberano de Quintana Roo. Junto con Baja California Sur, al cual también le fue otorgada la condición de Estado el 8 de Octubredel año 1974, Quintana Roo y Baja California son los Estados más Jóvenes de la República Mexicana.

De manera oficial, Quintana Roo abarca 44,705 kilómetros cuadrados (17,261 millas cuadradas) y se encuentra dividido en 10 municipio que incluyen Cancún, la Isla de Cozumel y Isla Mujeres, Bacalar, Playa del Carmen, Akumal, Zel-Ha y la Capital, Chetumal.

En Febrero de 2015 Quintana Roo adoptó una nueva zona horaria: la del sureste que corresponde al horario estándar del este. El Estado ya no cambia de horario.

Latest posts by Laura Wilkinson (see all)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

©2021 Cozumel 4 You  |  Website Design by Internet Marketing Press

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?